$ 100,000 raised to support the movement of independent voters at anti-corruption awards


More than 500 citizens from across the country attended the 20th Annual Independent Voting Anti-Corruption Awards, held virtually on October 25.

Independent Voting Vice-Chair for National Development Cathy Stewart and Independent Voting Lawyer Amikka Burl hosted a fast-paced and entertaining show featuring activists and actors from the burgeoning independent movement. Awards were presented in honor of Farhad Mohit, Gaby Cardenas and Katherine M. Gehl, three innovators who recognize the importance of the independent electoral community and the need to revitalize American democracy.

As Independent Voting Chair Jackie Salit said in her comments, “This is not a movement that someone imagined in a boardroom, a think tank or a university somewhere. It is a movement that is co-created at many different levels of society. , by many types of people. It is a movement with a vision that can move our country forward – inclusive democracy, inclusive development and a vision for the country that improves the lives of every person, every community and every family. “

The event, in addition to being a fundraiser, was also a fundraiser. Viewers donated and watched the fund-a-meter event steadily increase. The financial goal was met – $ 100,000 was raised to invest in outreach to connect, train and empower independent voters.

If you were unable to connect live, you can watch the program here.

Meet the anti-corruption winners


Katherine M. Gehl is the founder of The Institute for Policy Innovation (IPI), a non-partisan nonprofit founded in 2020 to catalyze modern political change in America and to have the final five-vote vote passed in states across the country. Click here for Katherine’s award presentation and acceptance.

Farhad Mohit is the founder of The good feast, which is working on creating a free and open source platform for people to elect independent candidates. Click here for Farhad pricing and acceptance overview.

Gaby CardenasColibri collective, the first Latina-owned digital company in Phoenix, Arizona, worked with Arizona independent voters in 2019, developing the social marketing campaign for their video campaign highlighting the preferably closed presidential elections in Arizona. Click here for the award ceremony and acceptance of Gaby.

Independent activists and spokespersons were at the center of the anti-corruption awards ceremony

Two videos were shown at the event which showcased some of the powerful voices – independents and allies – speaking out on behalf of independents. Find out their answers to two questions they were asked.

Watch “What Does America Need to Know About Independent Voters?” ” here.

Watch “What Are the Misconceptions About Independent Voters?” ” here.


The Independent Voting spokesperson training program was fully on display during the anti-corruption awards. Click here for a teaser. The program is partly educational and partly performance. Registration is limited to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to participate. If you would like to apply for the upcoming training, complete and submit this application today.

The independent voter: A new book on the self-employed??

At the event, Dr Omar Ali (Dean of Lloyd International Honors College at UNC-Greensboro and member of the Independent Voting Board) announced a new book in preparation. The independent voter, which is scheduled for release in summer 2022 and written by himself, Jacqueline Salit (Chairman of the independent vote) and Thom reilly (Former Chancellor of the State of Nevada Education System and Professor of Political Affairs at Arizona State University) will explore how independents have been catalysts of change throughout American history. The authors examine not only the obstacles that the independents face, but also the opportunities that present themselves to remake the political, cultural and legal landscape of today through the demand for recognition and respect of the independents and for structural political reforms. . The book is published by Routledge Press. Stay tuned to pre-order your copy!


Comments are closed.